marriage

Our History

My husband and I have known each other for over 3o years.  Even though we were not childhood sweethearts,  we had already loved each other.  He was my friend, my protector, my frenemy…And then one day we ran into each other on the street and the timing was right.  Before we knew it, we were in a relationship and married with kids.

It was the little things he did for me that made me love him more and more each day. He didn’t have a lot of money and he couldn’t afford to provide me with the lifestyle that I had become accustomed to living. But he lavished me with attention, he made sure that my immediate needs were taken care of, he spent quality time  with me, he was sensitive to changes in my spirit, and he made me feel safe and protected.

Words cannot express how much I love and appreciate him.  For a while I took him for granted and vice versa.  The things that were so common in the early days of our relationship were no longer common.  We began pushing each other away and in my anger over no longer receiving the same attention from him, I stopped showing him the love I felt for him.

But now that we recognize some of the mistakes we’ve made, my goal is for us to never repeat them.

I’ve learned that you have to make the conscious decision to love your spouse everyday no matter how angry, hurt, annoyed, or disappointed you feel.  That’s easier said than done and everyday is a challenge.  But….

Love is a Choice.  Love is the Key. ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

