marriage · rebuilding

“Love is a Choice”

The passage below comes from an article on Crosswalk.com titled “How To Choose To Love Your Spouse Everyday.”  It has touched me so much that I find myself reading it over and over again; reminding myself to LOVE MY HUSBAND through my hurts and disappointments.

“At times we are faced with the decision to love those who aren’t loving towards us. In other seasons we must choose to love in the midst of a hurt or offense. It requires strength and humility that we do not possess on our own. It demands us to act in ways that that appear foolish against the world’s wisdom, but make God proud. In those moments, love is a most definitely a choice:

  • Choosing to forgive when it’s easier to shame the other person
  • Staying when it’s easier to walk out
  • Asking for forgiveness
  • Serving without expectations
  • Listening when it’s easier to blame
  • Preferring the other person
  • Loving when it’s easier to be bitter, resentful and proud
  • Choosing love, because He first loved us

A Prayer for Your Marriage:

Father, help me to choose love for my spouse today. I want to extend him/her the kindness and grace that you cover me with daily. Help me to see him/her as you do, to be kind even when it’s easier to be rude. Help me to forgive where there have been offenses even if it’s difficult. Help me to make the right choices, to love, to honor You in our marriage. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.”

You can read the full article here.

NOTE:  Sorry, not Sorry.  I never meant for my writings to have such a Christian undertone, but that is what has been helping me to change my personal behaviors in my marriage.  A lot of my healing and peace have come from writing letters to God, praying and reading articles on Crosswalk.com and “The Power of a Praying Wife.”  I have been hearing God’s responses to my pleas and I see changes beginning to happen.  I have to keep reminding myself to be patient and take things one day at a time.

Love is a CHOICE. ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

