marriage · prayer

War Room

“To win any battle, you’ve got to have the right strategy and resources because victories don’t come by accident.”

On the recommendation of several friends, I recently watched War Room.  This is a good movie and I also highly recommend it for any person who is going through hard times.

Below are the 5 lessons or take aways I received from a marital point of view.  I also believe that they can apply to any situation.

  1.  You need a prayer strategy for each area of your life.  This is your battle plan.
  2. Write down everything you think your spouse has done wrong (or just the highlights) and forgive him/her.  Give him/her Grace even when they don’t deserve it.
  3. If you want victory, you must first surrender.
  4. You’re not fighting your spouse, you’re fighting the real enemy, satan, who is trying to steal your joy.
  5. Focus your heart and mind on the Lord.  Get rid of distractions.  Ask the Lord for forgiveness.  Don’t leave Jesus out of it.

Interestingly enough, I have a journal where I write letters to God.  I started it early this year when we hit a breaking/turning point in our marriage.  These letters I wrote were prayers for things I would like to see changed in my marriage and the areas that needed healing within us.  We would argue and I would write.  I would feel hopeless and I would write.  The only thing missing was my “War Room.”  Oh, and also forgiveness…I’m still struggling with forgiving my husband, but I’m working on it.

Do yourself a favor, watch the movie.

Leave a Reply

